Eureka Pioneer Museum

The Eureka Pioneer Museum came into existence because of the dreams and hard work of many people.   The initial monetary gift was given by Leroy and Claudia Hoffman in 1975.   Rev. Walter Kranzler was chosen to design the building.   In 1976 the Hoffman’s gave an additional gift which was matched by donations from the Eureka community.   The ground breaking and dedication ceremony was held on May 15, 1977.   The museum opened its doors the following spring.

The purpose of the Eureka Pioneer Museum is to preserve and display artifacts and documents of our German/Russian heritage.   Walter and Marian Kranzler were the first curators.   The first officers of the museum board of directors were President Mel Geist, Vice-President Walter Kranzler, Secretary Glenda Lindemann and Treasurer Sarge Kary: board members included John Smith, Martha Mehlhaff, Paul Hausauer, Lenore Schick, Andy Koerner, Verlena Mehlhaff, Arlo Mehlhaff and Bruce Mehlhaff.

In addition to the original building, the following structures were brought into the museum complex, a country schoolhouse, a country church and a sod house.   A 60 by 100 foot building to display antique farm machinery was constructed.

Edmund and Hulda Opp were curators of the museum for 29 years.   In 2015, Arlo and Bonnie Mehlhaff became the curators.

The current board of directors is: 

President: Barry Lapp, 

Vice-President: Donald Fischer, 

Secretary: Hunter Heinrich, 

Treasurer: Jean Bertsch,

Charlie Hoffman, Sally Odenvach, Stanley Schaffer, Peter Schmidt, Sherrie Neuharth, Zelda Fischer, Clyde Ottenbacher

The museum is open from mid-April until the end of October.

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday: 1 PM -5 PM

Saturday and Sunday: 2 PM -5 PM

There is no admission charge, but donations are welcomed.  

Museum phone: 605.284.2711; Curator phone: 605.284.2331